“SECTION 1. It shall be unlawful for any person or persons in any manner to transport from one place to another in this State, or for any railroad company, or express company, or other common carrier, or any officer, agent; or employee of any of them, or any other person acting in their behalf knowingly to ship or to transport from one place to another in this State in any manner or by any means whatsoever, except as hereinafter provided, any firearm of the type commonly known as a machine gun.
SECTION 2. It shall be unlawful for any person to store, keep, possess, or have in possession, or permit another to store, keep, possess, or have in possession, except as hereinafter provided, any firearm of the type commonly known as a machine-gun.
SECTION 3. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, or give away, or be interested directly or indirectly, in the sale or giving away, of any firearm of the type commonly known as a machine-gun.
SECTION 4. Provided, this Act shall not apply to the military authorities of the State or nation, and provided further, that any peace officer of the State, counties or political subdivision thereof, may possess machine-guns when required in the performance of their duties. After April 1, 1931, every person permitted by this Act to possess a machine-gun, shall file in the office of the Secretary of State, on a blank to be supplied by the Secretary of State, an application to be properly sworn to, which shall include his name and address, and the serial number of the machine-gun which he desires to possess. Thereupon, the Secretary of State shall file such application, in his office, registering such officer in a book or index to be kept for that purpose, and assign to him a number, and issue to him a card, which he shall keep with him while he has such machine-gun in his possession. Such registration shall be made on the date application is received and filed with the Secretary of State, and shall expire on December 31, of the year in which said license is issued.
SECTION 5. Any person violating any part of this law shall upon conviction be fined in any sum not more than $1,000.00, and not less than $100.00, and the machine-gun or guns found in his possession shall be confiscated and the title thereof shall pass to the political subdivision of the State making the capture.
SECTION 6. All laws and parts of laws in conflict herewith are hereby repealed, and whereas criminals are using machine-guns for illegal purposes, this Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, and safety, an emergency is hereby declared, and it shall be in force and effect from and after its passage.”
Full Text (Subscription Required): Hein
Acts, Concurrent Resolutions, Memorials and Proposed Constitutional Amendments of the Forty-Eighth General Assembly of the State of Arkansas Passed at the Session Held at the Capitol, in the City of Little Rock, Arkansas, Convening on the 14th Day of January, 1931, and Adjourning on the 14th Day of March, 1931 (Little Rock, AR: Democrat Printing & Litho. Co., 1931), 705-706. Act Number 225—An Act to Prohibit the Possession, Transportation or Sale of Machine Guns, and Inflicting Penalty for Violation Thereof, §§ 1-6. Approved: March 26th, 1931.